Nations League final: when is it and which teams have qualified? | american football

France win the 2021 Nations League trophy

The Nations League final will take place next year (Image: Mike Hewitt/Getty Images)

The Nations League group stage is over for the 2022 season, with the finalists, teams promoted and relegated teams now confirmed across the four competitions.

England suffered a miserable campaign, finishing bottom of their League A group and sealing relegation to League B.

Now that the dust has settled on the group stage, we look ahead to the Nations League finals and what relegation means for Gareth Southgate’s men.

Which teams have qualified for the final?

Spain, Croatia, Italy and the Netherlands have qualified for next year’s Nations League final.

Spain scored a dramatic winner in the 88th minute to Portugal to lead the hosts into the last four.

Meanwhile, Italy took a 2-0 win in Budapest, beating Hungary to the top of the group.

The Netherlands were comfortably victorious in their group while Croatia confirmed their place in the final with a 3-1 victory over Austria.

When is the Nations League Final?

The Nations League finals take place in June 2023with the four group winners from League A.

Aurelien Tchouameni and Paul Pogba hold the Nations League trophy in 2021

France won the Nations League in 2021 (Photo: Isabella Bonotto/Anadolu Agency via Getty Images)

The final consists of two semi-finals, a play-off for third place and the final itself.

The semi-finals will take place on June 14-15, 2023, with the winners advancing to the final and the losers competing for third place.

The play-off for third place and the final will take place on June 18, 2023.

Where are the finals held?

The venue for the Nations League final has not yet been announced.

Traditionally, the hosts are chosen from one of four teams that qualify for the final.

The Nations League Final matches will take place in two locations in one or two cities.

France won the Nations League last year, beating Spain in the final when it was held in Italy.

What does relegation mean for England?

England have suffered relegation from League A (Image: James Williamson – AMA/Getty Images)

After finishing at the bottom of their group, England have been relegated from League A to League B.

This means that England will be in League B in the next installment of the Nations League, which will take place in 2024.

England cannot qualify for the Nation League final until they are back in League A.

The winners of the League B groups are promoted to League A, while the teams finishing at the bottom are relegated to League C.

In the 2022 season, Albania, Armenia, Finland, Iceland and Romania, among others, participated in League B.

MORE: When will the World Cup start in Qatar? Date of first game and opening ceremony

MORE: New England World Cup Kit: Where To Buy And How Much It Cost?

Follow Metro through our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your thoughts in the comments below

General sports

Leave a Comment